A Call to Boldness

There are Christians all across the world who are being persecuted in frightening and terrible ways simply for believing in Jesus and practicing their faith. There are Christians in America who are willing to say “Happy Holidays” instead of “Merry Christmas” because they’re afraid someone might be offended. To me, this does not work. If you are a Christian in America, be thankful for the freedom you have to believe as you do, and don’t be so afraid to speak what you believe. It’s your country too, and you have brothers and sisters worldwide who have suffered much more than you. Follow their example and be bold in your faith.

4 thoughts on “A Call to Boldness

  1. …as long as you remember that there’s a reason between being bold and being obnoxious! πŸ™‚

    I work with a Jewish family and have gotten to be rather close to them. Just today, their two young boys pointed to a cross in my house and asked why Christians had that symbol. I got to tell them about how Hashem (Hebrew for God) became a man named Yeshua (Hebrew for Jesus) and he took the punishment for everything we failed to do according to Torah (Hebrew for Law, among other things). If, at Chanuka, I had insisted on greeting them with “Merry Christmas,” I would not likely have gotten this chance. Any closeness I had with the family at that point would have been, at the least, threatened.

    Now, that doesn’t mean I’ve hidden my Christianity. They knew we celebrated Christmas. When they visited, they saw the tree and the presents. (I so wish we had a Nativity set that they could have asked about.) But I didn’t insist on “Merry Christmas” when I saw them.

    While we do need an encouragement to be bold, so often in our society, a bold Christian is an obnoxious one. There’s a balance; speak the truth, yes! Speak the truth in love, yes!

    Brandon, I know you’re not advocating an abandonment of civility. This ain’t an attack on you by any means. Just making sure we get both sides out in public. πŸ™‚

  2. Luke, you’re absolutely right. Being obnoxious about your faith is anything but Christ-like. I think I make the distinction between the two at this: If I know it will offend a specific person, and I do it anyway, that’s obnoxious. If I don’t do it because I’m afraid it might potentially offend someone out there, that’s another thing entirely. I’m thinking of things like saying “Happy Holidays” to the Target employee as I check out because I’m afraid that if the person isn’t Christian they’ll be offended. And I think there’s also a distinction between the person who is legitimately offended, that is, actually feels they have been disrespected because of your words, and the person who claims to have been offended because they believe in an all-inclusive, relativistic culture and like to point the finger at Christianity because it’s “too exclusive.”

    Now, what you’re talking about is being sensitive to people’s perspectives for the sake of opening doors for witnessing. What I’m talking about is boldly proclaiming the Jesus I believe in. The beautiful thing is they’re not mutually exclusive, because the same Lord prescribed both. We need to have – and pray for – the wisdom to know what to say and when.

  3. Good comments all round. For those of us that work in the secular world, being in people’s face is extremely counter productive. On the other hand, we are to be ‘light’. Simply by our living our Christian faith God creates opportunities for witness. There are times we witness without our having a clue that we are. I had one parent walk up to me and say she appreciated that I was a Christian. I don’t talk about that in class, I hadn’t talked to her daughter about faith (she’s home schooled except for my class), and there had been nothing overt (in my thinking) that I had done all year. Yet, something was obvious to that ‘child’. It makes me wonder what comes across right and what comes across negative on a daily basis. Our lives are the first or only witness that most people will see.

Leave a Reply

