Prompt – Music of the Future

Music has a way of capturing the heart and soul of a person.  The other day I was driving, listening to Bebo Norman’s lastest album, Ocean, singing along as best I could.  Got to a song I don’t really know yet, and so I stopped singing.  It felt awkward to listen and not sing, so I started tapping my fingers on the wheel.

Why do we do this?  Why can’t we listen to music without feeling a need to be involved?  Anywhere you go, you see someone listening to a song they love, almost guaranteed they are active in the song somehow, singing along, bopping their head, whatever.  I think we’re just built to respond to music.

That being the case, I don’t see any point in the future when music is not a big part of the lives of people. But over the many centuries we’ve seen a large number of advancements in music and music technology.

This week, try writing a story that focuses on music in the future, with special emphasis on the kinds of instruments and sounds the musicians might use.

Leave a Reply

