Too Busy to Write?

This not the writing room at "Seeking the New Earth, Inc." It could be, though, if you take away our shiny computers and those pretty pens we like. The ones with the purple glitter ink.

Writers write. It’s what they do. They don’t do it because they have to. They do it because if they don’t, something inside their head will burst and they’ll end up being the people that order one Coke and fourteen straws at drive-thru windows throughout the midwest. And heaven help you if they receive fifteen straws instead.

But I don’t have a post ready for today.

I haven’t had the time to sit down and write for fun for nearly a week. I’ve been working sixty to seventy hour weeks and making sure to spend time daily with my family. That leaves very little “me” time. I’m so exhausted that when I even get time to open up the word processor, nothing flows from fingers to blank canvass. I’m writing this now instead of working like I should. I’m not donig this out of a sense of joy, but a small sense of obligation. I committed to posting Tuesdays and Thursdays. I hope I get the chance to get something worthwhile out for next week!

Does that mean I’m not a writer? I’m fairly certain I feel no urges to submit strange orders at static-filled boxes behind fast food restaurants. Well, no more than normal, anyway. Yet, I’ve had no chance to sit and write!

No, I’ll take that back. I write every day for my job, and it requires quite a bit of creativity. Whether or not it’s quality, you’ll have to ask my congregation. I don’t know if I’ve mentioned this on the blog before, but I’m a pastor. I’ll admit I’m very new at the job, but I am indeed a spiritual shepherd. This position requires a lot of writing.

Every week, I study God’s Word and write a sermon to bring God’s Word to God’s people in ways that they can understand and apply. This takes from ten to twenty hours depending the week. I’m in the process of putting together a memorial service for the tenth anniversary of the terrorist attacks on 9/11. That involves writing not only a series of short devotions, but appropriate prayers and dialogues with the congregation. I usually wite my own Bible studies from scratch.

So, if I don’t post here, please forgive me. It’s not that I’m no longer a writer. It’s not that I’ve given up writing and now make my living by taking extra ketchup packets and making art on my ever-growing forehead. My writing is simply ending up elsewhere. I’m not too busy to write. I’m just too busy to write… here.

I thank you for your patience.

Now, back to your regularly scheduled program. Move along, folks. Nothing to see here.

4 thoughts on “Too Busy to Write?

  1. I’ve seen your secret notebooks, Brandon. You know, it’s kind of creepy the way you write about massive interplanetary wars with the purple glitter ink. It makes me think that’s the way Emperor Palpatine scribbled in his notes in grade school.

    (For those who don’t know us well enough, this is complete and simple poking fun at each other and has no basis in reality.)

Leave a Reply

