The Butterfly Effect is Even Worse for Writers…

I really wish my writing station looked this cool.

Writing is like time travel.

So, I’m tackling this massive expansion of a short story. I’ve added complications galore and made it a far more interesting story. And, as the story involves time travel, it’s fairly complex. However, as I work my way toward the end and ask more questions, I look back and see I need to add more clues throughout the story so it’s all fair to the reader.

Which means that I have to go back and change the story as I go. It’s all fairly common, of course. Most people call it revising.

But here’s the thing: as I change the ending, I need to go back and change the body of the story. It’s time travel in reverse. Changing the ending means changing the beginning.

It’s all very complex, timey-wimey stuff.

One thought on “The Butterfly Effect is Even Worse for Writers…

Leave a Reply

