An Alien Love

One Tiffany pointed at the other Tiffany. “I’m your real wife! She’s the fake!”

Mark calmly looked between the two, the gun shifting from one to the other.

The Tiffany on the left begged,  “Honey, you love me. Look in your heart. You’ll know.”

Mark shot the one on the left. She crumbled in on herself, twisting inside out until only a giant green amoeba-like creature remained, oozing out onto the basement floor from a hole in its outer membrane.

Tiffany smirked.

Mark shrugged. “Make me a sandwich, woman.”

 

FLASH! It’s Flash Friday, the day when Seeking New Earth authors write short stories up to 1000 words (“flash fiction”) or 110 words (“microfiction”). Both are sure to invigorate the imagination and stimulate the synapses. Did you like what you read? Want to explore the story some more? Or maybe you want to try your own hand at some flash fiction? Leave us a comment below!

15 thoughts on “An Alien Love

  1. I’m…. really not sure how I feel about this story. So, Mark doesn’t really care? Hm. Well, the important thing is you kept it short. Yay for exercises in brevity!

    1. I wasn’t sure about the story, either, but my wife loved it.

      The idea behind it was… well, if I have to explain it, I really didn’t do all that well, did I? Alas. I’ll try again next week!

  2. I think I got the idea behind it loud and clear. Well-done.

    Brandon, this is a couple who are flippantly unloving and disrespectful of each other, or at least act that way often. The man knew that the earnest, “heartfelt” pleading of the false wife was completely out of character.

    The smirking at such mawkishness by the wife, combined with the easy disrespect of the husband, reveals much of their relationship with few words and how uncharacteristic the false wife’s words are. Which, I would suppose, is the whole point of Flash Friday.

      1. This sounds like a longer-term project. We have to agre what “useful” means and so on. Maybe a post to assemble help from more than just the two of us? Maybe we need a nomination process?

  3. I like it because of that last line, actually.
    He shrugs as if this has happened plenty of times before (and likely will again *sigh*). Just like dealing with mice in the house or something.

    Or if you look at just the last word “woman” – you could ask whether he killed the “fake” Tiffany (the alien) or the “real” Tiffany (his wife).
    Considering this is science fiction – who’s to say he isn’t also a gooey green creature inside a human shell? (I don’t think he is. I think he killed the fake. But you could read it the other way because of that last word.)

    Okay – waaaay more comment than you normally get from me – but there it is. (Since Jon didn’t even really get why I like this one. ;))

  4. Oh wait!!!!! I TOTALLY misread this before. I thought the one he let live was the one who made the plaintive plea!

    I totally rescind my criticism. This is a really good story, and very well reveals something about human nature and relationships: We know full well when something isn’t sincere, because the sum of our experience tells us what to expect.

    Man, I should have read more carefully.

  5. Delicious. I liked the story, and the points mike brought out are very good ones. I can see how they work. Jen definitely has an awesome thought with the “he could be an alien too so the human is the imposter” idea.
    Thanks for sharing!
    🙂

    1. Jen surprised me with her thoughts that he actually shot his wife since he might be an alien… sometimes it’s fun when a reader takes a story a way the writer never imagined!

Leave a Reply

