Too Many Universes

garage boxes

Like this. But, you know. Universes.

I’ve got too many damn universes in my garage.

“Good” ones complete with halos and dragon slayers, “bad” ones with a goatee on every man (and woman), and everything in between.

Each morning with my coffee I spin off a new one, but I can’t seem to do it right. Oh they’ve got villains, heroes, delight and despair, and rising and overcoming adversity. But there’s just one thing I can never muster: stability. Constancy. Reliability.

They tilt, fracture, and spin out in a matter of days or hours, until everything is an unrecognizable mess of jumbled neutrons.

They told me I couldn’t play God.

They were right.


“He is before all things, and in him all things hold together.” Colossians 1:17.

This was a “first sentence” prompt taken from a conversation with Jon and some friends over facebook.

FLASH! It’s Flash Friday, the day when Seeking New Earth authors write short stories up to 1000 words (“flash fiction”) or 110 words (“microfiction”). Both are sure to invigorate the imagination and stimulate the synapses. Did you like what you read? Want to explore the story some more? Or maybe you want to try your own hand at some flash fiction? Leave us a comment below!  If you’d like to read more, search “flash fiction” in the search bar above.

11 responses to “Too Many Universes

  1. Strangely enough, this feels like an indictment of all the RPG source books I have purchased and then never actually played even once.

    They told me I didn’t have time to DM all those campaigns.

    They were right.

    • I thank God for good DMs. The work that happens in the background is comparable to the development of a small video game or novel. Except without any compensation at all.

      Other than Cheetos and Mountain Dew.

      • Never discount Cheetos and Mountain Dew. They go a long, long way.

        DM’ing is real easy to get in over your head. It takes so much time to do really well.

  2. Wow you went a totally different direction! Awesome!

    I like how you get the Christian message in here in such a short space. Of course we can’t ever create the stability.

    I also love the humor. I’m imagining a world where the trees have goatees. And the cars. And the birds. It’s just… awesome.

    Also: This is a great complete story. There is no more that needs to be said here. You’ve told enough. Of course you could expand, but it’s not necessary. Well done!

  3. Are there goatees on cats? Llamas? Octopi? (Apparently, that’s not a word, according to spellcheck.)

    I was taken aback by the Christian spin at the end. But I love it. Reinforcing that God is the only true Creator in a science fiction story…wait, isn’t that the point of this blog? (sorta?)

    • Hmm. Actually, “everything in between” was supposed to refer to everything between good universes and bad universes. I think the word limitation made my sentence parsing a little ambiguous, I see. Gotta watch for that.

  4. Pingback: Potty Mouth | Seeking the New Earth

Leave a Reply

