Flash Fiction: Enlightenment

He used to be called Jaremie Carrington Rothlisson, but now he was known simply as Kai.  Sitting the lotus position in his one-man pod, his mind and the ship as one through the neural interface, he glided down to the surface of a small moon, to where an ancient shrine rested amid the rocks.  A bubble of atmosphere – he did not know how it was maintained – protected an old man, sitting reading a weathered book.

“I have come, great sage, seeking enlightenment,” said Kai.

“Have you?” asked the sage.  “It is simple.”  He held the book out, and Kai collected it into his pod. It was bound in leather, adorned with nothing more than a vertical line, and a horizontal cross-piece a third of the way down the line.

“The wise still seek him,” said the sage.

FLASH! It’s Flash Friday, the day when Seeking New Earth authors write short stories up to 1000 words (“flash fiction”) or 110 words (“microfiction”). Both are sure to instigate the imagination and stimulate the synapses. Did you like what you read? Want to explore the story some more? Or maybe you want to try your own hand at some flash fiction? Leave us a comment below!

I must confess: I cheated with this one – it is too many words by about twenty, but I simply cannot find a way to hack any more out to make it still make sense. Also, I will confess that I think it’s kind of terrible. I promise better when I’m not in the throes of putting together a master’s portfolio.

ETA: I mean terrible in the quality of storytelling department, not in the theologically sound department.

3 thoughts on “Flash Fiction: Enlightenment

  1. I enjoy it — and flash friday includes flash fiction, not just microfiction, right?

    I’m curious why you included the “once known as” for Kai’s name. Is there a hidden joke/ previous knowledge thing going on here?

    1. No real meaning to it other than that his name sounds somewhat high society (to me, at least), and his new quest for enlightenment has him adopting a sort of eastern mysticism type name. I suppose I was sort of poking fun at the way so many celebrities and wealthy socialites adopt Buddhism or similar because it’s in vogue.

Leave a Reply

