New Year Nike

It’s New Year’s. Yay.

So, it’s January 1st. I didn’t make any resolutions. I didn’t make any vows to vanquish a certain amount of weight. I didn’t swear to study a new language. I didn’t determine to bless the blog with my writing more often.

See, I don’t believe in New Year’s Resolutions. It has nothing to do with the ability or inability of a resolution to actually do anything, though I’m convinced resolutions are pretty much useless. I’ve done that in the past – I’m going to run! I’m going to eat right! I’m going to watch less tv! I’m going to keep the house clean! These resolutions never last long.

It has more to do with this simple philosophy, brought to us by Nike: Just do it.

You knew exactly what I meant. Which makes you a consumer-bot. Don’t worry. I’m a consumer bot from two generations back. That means I still quote jingles from the 80’s.

Don’t wait for some magic day to become a writer. You want to write? Don’t promise yourself you’ll get a novel done… someday. Star writing. Now. Don’t even bother finishing this blog entry. It’s not worth it if you’ve decided to write. Just do it.

If I say I’ll start tomorrow, it won’t happen. If I say I’ll do it now… it’ll get done.

You could sum up my entire post here by saying: Don’t procrastinate. Don’t use New Year’s or any other holiday/celebration/Festivus as an excuse to procrastinate, either.

I do want to be careful. “Just do it” doesn’t mean that I don’t prepare. “Just do it” often enough simply means, “Get started today!” So please don’t take this to mean that I’m going to write an entire novel today. It means that I’m getting going. I’m doing research to find out what technology level I want my protagonist to be at. It means I’m exploring characters and building a world and figuring out an outline.

But it does mean I’m doing something today. I will not wait for tomorrow.

If you get this, you rock.

And I don’t need to wait until the first of the year to do it. Sure, it can be useful in measuring progress to have a definite start date. I get that. You can record when you started whenever it is. For instance, you don’t have to wait until November if your goal is to write a novel in a month. Why not start today? Or on February 23 if that’s the day you decide you want to do that? You can see if you can get an entire novel out by March 23. Go for it!

Basically: don’t use the excuse of a new year to start doing things. Just chase that dream because you have been given the ability to do so.

Don’t wait.

Just do it.

Even if your dream involves a macrame poncho.

One response to “New Year Nike

Leave a Reply

