Weeping Wednesday: Great Days in History

We usually dedicate Weeping Wednesday to “literature” that makes us cry. Today, I’d like to present you a different reason for crying.

Yes. I join you in your tears, valiant teacher.

7 responses to “Weeping Wednesday: Great Days in History

    • Agreed!

      I’ve noticed that every generation tends to forget that they’re not the first one, though. At my congregation, a woman complained that we didn’t do the original Away in a Manger — instead of the more recent one (from CW), we played the more traditional. She didn’t believe me when I told her hers wasn’t the first!

  1. I’m reminded of a quote from renowned counselor/therapist Theodore Dalrymple. He relates a story where he was talking with a young man suffering from severe depression. He asked the young man if he could remember when WWII took place, and the young man said, “Sometime in the 17th century?” Dalrymple comment was: “I was actually quite impressed, because his answer revealed that he recognized that things actually took place before his own existence.”

Leave a Reply

