Flash Fiction Guest Post: Tasting Words of Literature

The wrapper crackled as I opened “Emily Dickinson” and popped the candy into my mouth. The candy itself was sour, and the words flowing through my ears were poetically angry and depressed. I listened to “I heard a Fly buzz–as I died” and tasted salt like tears. Then it was over. I opened my eyes, the last words of the poem echoing in my ears. I hold out the bag of literature candy to my friends.

“Who wants to try?”

They all shake their heads and back away.

FLASH! It’s Flash Friday, the day when Seeking New Earth authors write short stories up to 1000 words (“flash fiction”) or 110 words (“microfiction”). Both are sure to instigate the imagination and stimulate the synapses. Did you like what you read? Want to explore the story some more? Or maybe you want to try your own hand at some flash fiction? Leave us a comment below!

This is a guest post by Bookspirit99, who, incidentally, is finally going to be invited to be on our list of contributors, so that we can eliminate the step of having to copy and paste her posts from email into the blog.  Glad to you have you writing with us, Bookspirit!

2 thoughts on “Flash Fiction Guest Post: Tasting Words of Literature

Leave a Reply

