Whispers from the Closet

Hush, Child. Hush. Your tears will only bring your Father back, and you don’t want him to see you crying, do you? You know what would happen then. Perhaps he would take more of your friends. Perhaps he would hit you. You don’t know, do you?

No, your Father took your tiger. He took your friend. And you’ll never see him again. He’s gone. And it will be so hard to sleep tonight. So frightening.

I can take your sadness away. Yes, I can. I’m not the villain all the time, Child. Let me help you.

Yes, I am in your imagination, but I am far more than that.

I can comfort you in a way that no one else can. You see, I eat memories. Oh, no, not children. I should be honest; I tried once. I found that Children are too full of hopes and dreams. Those kind of things always cause indigestion. No, you are quite safe from my teeth.

I only eat memories. I can eat the memories of that little tiger. That means you’ll never miss him. You won’t be sad. No more tears.

Besides, he’s just an old stuffed animal. Your Father was right, you know. He didn’t protect you. Only you can protect you. And as long as you lean on that old tiger, you’ll never learn to protect yourself. Let me help you, Child.

Just say the word, and I’ll come out. I’ll take only the memories you let me take.

Don’t worry. I would never hurt you.

Never.

Read more of the Nation of the Child here

One response to “Whispers from the Closet

  1. Pingback: Nation of the Child | Seeking the New Earth

Leave a Reply

