You’re Different, and That’s Bad

“What would make you an asset to this team, Mr Stevens?”

There it was, the clincher. I was about to land my dream job.

“I can work around the clock,” I answered evenly.

“Mr. Stevens, I don’t…”

“No, you don’t. Your team wastes valuable time, eight or ten whole hours a day, resting at home. But I can solve that. I can train them.”

“Train them?”

“To live like I do.” I presented her the files. “My typical week. Timelapse of course.”

The look she gave me was somewhere between confusion and dismissal, but I wasn’t concerned. No one else could offer what I did.

“Call me,” I suppressed a smirk, “Anytime.”

 

* * *

 

“How long can you go without sleep?” The technician eyed me suspiciously.

“I require three hours a week.”

“Medically impossible.”

“Difficult at first, yes. But not impossible I assure you. That’s why I’m here. Soon enough you will share the secret. You’ll be able…”

He scoffed. “Yes, that is why you’re here. And we will find your secret.” Suddenly, the room was flooded with light, and a dozen hands reached for me. “Let the testing begin.”

 

I must be crazy for picking up writing again. Also, I have no brain power left for editing. It is what it is. On to the next story!

This story is by Helen J. Mast (whom Jon happens to call his Bride). She got here a touch after everyone else, but she still got the story in! 

Leave a Reply

